NORTHERN MARIANAS COLLEGE



Faculty Senate

Meeting Minutes

September 10, 2009, 8:00 am Board of Regents Conference Room

- I. Meeting was called to order at 8:08 am
 - a. Members Present: Larry Lee, Lyte Chapap, Velma Deleon Guerrero, Frank Sobolewski, Joan Dubrall and Judy Torres
- II. Review/Adoption of Agenda
 - a. Motion to adopt by Frank Sobolewski.
 - b. Seconded by Lyte Chapap.
 - c. Agenda was adopted.
- III. Review/Adoption of May 19, 2009 Meeting Minutes
 - a. Changes were made by the Faculty Senate members.
 - b. Motion to adopt with changes by Frank Sobolewski.
 - c. Seconded by Lyte Chapap.
 - d. May 19, 2009 meeting minutes were adopted with revisions
 - e. Will be distributed by email to all Faculty Senate members.
- IV. Update on Faculty Senate Membership
 - a. Velma Deleon Guerrero is the official School of Education representative on the Faculty Senate.
- V. Faculty Representatives to: (a) College Council; (b) PROAC; (c) BAFC
 - a. College Council
 - i. College Council: Joan Dubrall, Barbara Merfalen, Larry Lee, and Rik Villegas.
 - ii. Frank Sobolewski was appointed to represent the faculty members on the College Council.
 - iii. Frank Sobolewski nominated Robert Armstrong.
 - iv. Seconded by Larry Lee.
 - v. Nomination was unanimously approved.
 - b. PROAC
 - i. Robert Armstrong is no longer representing the faculty members on PROAC.
 - ii. PROAC faculty representatives: Marian Tudela (in place of Vice President Barbara Merfalen), Velma Deleon Guerrero, and Dean Papadopoulos.
 - iii. Lyte Chapap nominated John Cox.
 - iv. Seconded by Frank Sobolewski.
 - v. Nomination was unanimously approved.
 - vi. Frank Sobolewski nominated Judy Torres.
 - vii. Seconded by Joan Dubrall
 - viii. Judy Torres declined nomination due to heavy workload.
 - ix. Joan Dubrall nominated Leo Pangelinan.

- x. Seconded by Frank Sobolewski.
- xi. Nomination was unanimously approved.

C. BAFC

- i. Current BAFC faculty reps: Frank Sobolewski.
- ii. Frank Sobolewski nominated Wil Maui.
- iii. Seconded by Lyte Chappap.
- iv. Nomination was unanimously approved.
- v. Velma Deleon Guerrero nominated Barbara Merfalen.
- vi. Seconded by Larry Lee.
- vii. Nomination was unanimously approved.

VI. Status of Compass Division vacancy

- a. Frank Sobolewski sent out the ballots with Carol Hosono as the only candidate for the Faculty Representative of the Compass Division.
- b. Carol expressed some concerns through email that the procedures did not meet the terms of the Faculty Senate Constitution. She had requested for clarification on who qualifies to vote.
- c. Frank Sobolewski sent out an email to faculty members withdrawing the ballots stating that the election has been cancelled and that any further complaints or concerns should be referred to the Faculty Senate President.
- d. Larry Lee asked if there was any feedback from the Dean of COMPASS. Frank Sobolewski reported that there was none.
- e. Frank Sobolewski discussed shared governance with Galvin Deleon Guerrero.
- f. Larry Lee will follow up with Dean Tee Abraham on the vacancy of the Compass Division.
- g. Larry Lee suggested having the division handle their own election.
- h. Subject was tabled until next meeting.

VII. Update on Proposed New Faculty Contracts

- a. Larry Lee stated that the Faculty Senate members have been working on this matter for 5 to 6 years, since Danny Wyatt was the Faculty Senate president.
- b. President Carmen Fernandez has the drafts that were reviewed and revised by Frank Gibson.
- c. Larry Lee will obtain the drafts from HR and distribute to the members.
- d. The President has expressed her support on this issue.
- e. Larry Lee stated that this is one of the Senate's top priorities this year.

VIII. Proposal to Create Separate Instructional Faculty Assembly

- a. Larry Lee announced that as of date NMC has 30 instructional faculty members and 41 non-instructional faculty members.
- b. Larry Lee stated that WASC recommends that we have a separated academic faculty assembly. "Academic Senate" as labeled by WASC.
- c. Frank Sobolewski moved that the Faculty Senate go on record in support of the creation of a separate instructional faculty assembly and instructional faculty senate that will be composed solely of faculty members in the Division of Academic Programs and Services, and that a separate non-instructional faculty assembly and senate be formed composed of all other NMC faculty.
- d. Seconded by Lyte Chapap.
- e. Judy Torres said she is not opposed to the idea but would like to withhold her vote until there is enough information to make a decision.
- f. Larry Lee stated that this needs to be addressed.
- g. Frank Sobolewski stated that it will take Board of Regents action on this issue.

- h. Judy Torres stated that we should just amend what we have now.
- i. Larry Lee explained that we are not deciding on the process, but only on whether or not we support the creation of an instructional faculty assembly and senate. A vote on the motion was called.
- j. Motioned carried unanimously.
- k. Frank Sobolewski motioned that the Faculty Senate President call a full faculty assembly to get all faculty members involved in this issue of creating a separate instructional faculty assembly.
- 1. Seconded by Judy Torres.
- m. Motioned carried unanimously.
- IX. Frank Sobolewski moved to table the rest of the items. Seconded by Lyte Chapap. Motion carried.
- X. The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday, September 17, 2009, 8:00 am, in room V-215.
- XI. Meeting adjourned at 9:30 am.